Thursday, March 13, 2008
Degrassi Hight Episode 13: Testing 1...2...3...
Joey finally gets his driver's license but learns that his academic difficulties are due to a learning disability.
The Good:
- Joey's inadvertent insult to Caitlin: "You just chew us up and spit us out, don't you?"
- The background announcement was a very funny snippet: "One of the 14 chicks is missing from
the biology lab. This is no laughing matter. Please return the innocent chick..." The background
announcements are often really funny or tied to the episode in some way if you can catch them.
- Joey, Snake and Wheels are like the three stooges of Degrassi High - I'm loving them!
- Yick is slowly creeping toward coolness as he continues to distance himself from the mostly
insufferable Arthur.
- Joey's dysgraphia storyline, especially his fight with Dwayne, interaction with Snake and Wheels
and (so heartbreaking and dramatic!) with Caitlin in detention.
- Caitlin bloodies Claude's nose! Brilliant and awesome!!!!!!!
The Bad:
- I don't like Luke. He is so smarmy.
- Why do I see Kathleen-beating Scott in the background? Shouldn't he be in jail or at least
transferred to another school?
- The grade nine science test cheating scandal - blech! Very ho-hum and cliche.
The Ugly:
- The very presence of Claude in this episode! And then he has to become the biggest coward
ever in the history of space and time by not even going to court with Caitlin?!?! P&ssy! He is
the biggest, ugliest coward in the WORLD - and he wants to get back together with Caitlin
on top of everything else he's done? Bitch, please. And what a whiny loser: "My paaaarents
aren't liberal like yoooouuuuurs are....". Sit the f&ck down and shut the f&ck up.
Overall:
Joey has really grown as a character. He was a highlight of the episode, along with Caitlin. LOVE a girl who consistently stands up for herself! Oh, and love Caitlin and Joey together and want them back together! Jaitlin 4-Ever! Obviously, I really enjoyed this episode. The older characters are coming into their own.
Saturday, March 1, 2008
Degrassi High Episode 12: Natural Attraction
When Erica starts dating again, Heather has trouble dealing with it. She feels guilty about supporting her sister's abortion, and is afraid a new romance could lead to another pregnancy.
The Good:
Okay, I like Alexa now. She's developed into a fairly good source of comic relief.
I really like Lucy and the twins.
Re: Wheels - thank you Amy & Allison, even though the two of you are generally annoying, it's about time someone saw something out of the ordinary about how damn tight Wheels' pants have always been - it's downright wrong. "His jeans are so tight, you could read the date on a dime!" While a stale cliche, totally the truth, and not in a good way.
All the sweet, young romance around the dance and in general in this episode is soooooooo cute! Snake & Amy, Allison & Nick, Erica & the grade 11 guy, Allison & Nick, Lucy & Trip, Alexa & Simon...
Go Erica! She totally called out Heather and Wheels making out at their party when Heather told Erica that grade 11 guy would think she's easy for kissing on the first date! And Erica is STILL being nice to her and comforting her after one of her "abortion clinic" nightmares. I have decided that Erica is my favorite twin. And she finally stands up to Heather when they're talking after the dance! Haha, maybe Heather DOES need to talk to Erica's counselor!
I really need to know what the American version of the word "Broomhead" is. LOL!
Amy and Allison demanding each other's clothes back in the bathroom during the dance and getting caught by the girl bully crowd was pretty awesome. I even liked when they realized how silly they were being, as cheesy as that was.
The Bad:
Ugh, the little kids need to go away. Scooter, Bartholomew, Arthur's cousin Dorothy and the little blonde girl, Tessa. Bartholomew couldn't be a bigger dork.
And yes, while I like the twins, Heather needs to step off. She is being such a judgemental bitch! And really, having nightmares about the abortion clinic when wasn't even her abortion? C'mon! And she's thinking more about that the baby would just have been born than Erica, when it would have been Erica's baby! Get over it - Erica's the only one who has the right to be traumatized.
Allison has no right to be mad about Snake asking Amy to the dance!
The Ugly:
The kid who "plays" Bartholomew is one of the worst actors on this show.
The two foot high red belt that Erica strapped around her waist, over the dress she wore to the dance. Heather looks better.
I don't know why people keep complimenting the sweater Amy's wearing, the one that's actually Allison's. Fug.
Holy crap! Heather interrupting Erica and grade 11 guy's kiss to scream that Erica doesn't think about or care about how Heather feels. And Erica is being soooooooooo cool, being so nice to Heather about stuff & trying to talk to her. Heather's being a baby about the whole thing with Erica dating again. Yes, you TOTALLY need to see Erica's counselor, you damn wet blanket, you!
Overall:
Despite the little kid subplot and Heather being really whiny, I really liked this episode. Any episode that has a main storyline involving the twins and/or Lucy is probably going to be one that I at least like. Erica was definitely a standout in this episode. This was also the first episode that made Amy and Allison even remotely likable. They were still somewhat annoying, but they had the most depth that they've displayed since the first time I saw their characters on Degrassi Junior High.
Friday, February 29, 2008
Degrassi High Episode 11: All in a Good Cause
Synopsis (courtesy of the Degrassi High: The Complete Collection DVD):
Claude convinces Caitlin to help him spray anti-nuke slogans on a factory where nuclear weapons will soon be produced. Scott beats up Kathleen again.
The Good:Caitlin's hair is the best I've ever seen it. For the late 80's, it's downright fabulous. I love Kathleen's hair too.
As much as I dislike Arthur (see The Bad), I'm impressed with his suggestion of TP'ing Raditch's tree and then volunteering to do it. A nice departure from his real personality. The pictures Yick took of the Arthur "in the act" were awesome.
Go Kathleen! She reports her ex to the police after he beats the crap out of her, gets a restraining order and tells him in no uncertain terms to f&ck off. This is the Kathleen that I used to hate and have grown to like! Push that girl too far and she will verbally rip you a new a$$ho!e.
Go Caitlin! After the whole arrest debacle, she shows up at school the next day appearing to have abandoned the whole "activist" look and it looks like she and "Clude" are over! See The Ugly for more on "Clude".
The Bad:
Everytime someone calls Caitlin's boyfriend Claude, she has to correct them immediately with "Clude". Damnably annoying.
Kathleen's baggy denim overalls/jumpsuit that she wears at the fund raising car wash. I don't remember anything that hideous from the late 80's - at least not at my high school.
Arthur is pompous and annoying and the actor who plays him cannot act. Please transfer to the same private school your sister Stephanie is attending please. No one likes you, not even Yick.
The Ugly:
Honestly, I don't know how some of these guys could ever have been thought of as even vaguely attractive. A perfect example of this is "Clude". Holy crap this guy is disgusting - the hair slicked back into a ponytail and shaved on the sides, the facial hair that looks like it was grown one hair at a time, the stupid earring, the (really) bad skin. But the worst of it has to be the pompous look on his face and the fact that either his jeans are tighter than Caitlin's or he's wearing leggings. My eyes start bleeding whenever I have to look at him for more than 30 seconds. His personality just makes it worse - he is the worst kind of idealist, convinced he's right, convinced he's important, convinced that people care what he thinks. Listen dorko, the only reason anyone cares about you is because you are dating Caitlin. I'm really hoping she gets rid of this a$$hat very soon. Everytime I see him I want to punch him in the balls over and over until he dies.
Kathleen's ex-boyfriend is in great need of someone bigger than him to give him a taste of his own medicine by giving him the kind of beating that puts him in the hospital. Poor Kathleen. She was so desperate for a boyfriend at the beginning of this series that she glommed onto the first guy who expressed interest. Even if he wasn't beating her up everytime we see him, he's another example of pure ugly.
I have to go off on "Clude" again. OMG, he LEFT CAITLIN at the factory to be caught by the security guard. What a wussy little a$$hat. I really hate him. His excuses the next day at school exposed him as the lame wuss that he is. His biggest concern is that Caitlin not tell anyone he ran and left her there, while she now has an arrest on her record. He is the most hate-inspiring character on this show.
Overall:
I enjoy all the episodes, this one less than most. I'm thinking that this is because it seems that much of it is dominated by two of my least favorite characters, Arthur and "Clude". However, the episode is redeemed by Kathleen and Caitlin standing up for themselves and rejecting their heinously ugly ex-boyfriends. Triumph! Hopefully I'll never have to see "Clude" or Scott ever again. Although I wouldn't mind seeing them again in an episode that kills one (or preferably both) off.
I'm Addicted to Degrassi High!
There are some things that bug the crap out of me and some things that make me laugh that weren't meant to, but at this point I am totally invested in most of the characters. I decided to start my first blog to capture my thoughts as I watch the episodes mostly because some of what I'm watching is so funny/cool/crazy/stupid that I really just wanted to record my observations on the Canadian version of my teenage years. I hope that there are other Degrassi High fans out there who find this blog, and hopefully, enjoy it.